I am trying to work out which of two death records in Wakefield registration district is my ancestor.

To do this I need the subdistricts listed in the order they come on the census.

I don’t know where to look for this in 1911.

  • Hi, Joanna, Welcome to G&FH.SE!
    – Jan Murphy
    Commented Jan 10, 2019 at 1:11

1 Answer 1


The report you want is available on Histpop.org.

Specifically, go to page 286 of the report titled: Areas, families or separate occupiers, and population, England and Wales, Vol. II. Registration areas, 1911.

This shows the sub-districts (in the order they were enumerated) in Wakefield Registration District at the time of the 1911 census:

  1. Bretton
  2. Sandal
  3. Horbury
  4. Wakefield
  5. Ardsley
  6. Stanley
  7. Normanton

An excerpt of that page (which also helpfully includes the constituent parishes of each sub-district:

enter image description here

  • Thanks Harry this is exactly what I was looking for. Commented Jan 10, 2019 at 7:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.