Skip to main content

For questions about ancestors and records in Canada. This includes previous political entities within the geographical boundaries of present-day Canada, such as the relevant British and French territories. Also tag the province if the question is specific to that province.

The occupation of the northern part of the continent of North America by its indigenous peoples was relatively undisturbed by Europeans until the 15th century. From that time, both French and English colonies were established across the land mass.

As a result of warfare in Europe, France effectively ceded control to England from 1763. Hence Canada is now regarded as fundamentally British while officially bilingual.

The current political entity was created in 1867, with the union of several colonies into a federal dominion of four provinces. The gradual addition of additional areas to the federation produced the current country consisting of ten provinces and three territories.

Also tag the province if the question pertains specifically to that province. The provinces of Canada (and tags created to date) are:

  • Alberta
  • British Columbia
  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Nova Scotia
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Saskatchewan