Skip to main content

For questions about ancestors and records in the US state of New York, including questions pertaining to the period before the state's admission to the US (1788) when it was a Dutch and later British colony. For questions about the five boroughs of New York City (Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, and Staten Island), use the new-york-city tag instead.

New York is a state in the Northeastern and Mid-Atlantic region of the United States. New York is one of the original thirteen colonies and became the 11th state on July 26, 1788. It is often referred to as New York State to distinguish it from New York City.