Skip to main content

For questions about ancestors and records in the country of New Zealand. This includes the period when it was a British colony.

New Zealand is an island country in the south-western Pacific Ocean. The country geographically comprises two main landmasses ‒ that of the North and South Islands ‒ and numerous smaller islands.

Polynesians settled New Zealand in 1250–1300 CE and developed a distinctive Māori culture and heritage. In 1840 the British and Māori signed a treaty making New Zealand a colony of the British Empire. Following colonisation, immigrants were predominantly from Britain, Ireland and Australia; there was also significant Dutch, Dalmatian,Italian, and German immigration, together with indirect European immigration through Australia, North America, South America and South Africa.

The majority of New Zealand's population today is of European descent; the indigenous Māori are the largest minority, followed by Asians and non-Māori Polynesians.