Skip to main content

For questions about ancestors and records in Wales. Also tag the county if the question is specific to that county.

Country part of the United Kingdom. Many administrative functions relevant to genealogists are paired with England. For example, the censuses, civil registration, and probate services for Wales in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries based in England, subsequently many Welsh records are archived at The National Archives in London. This contrasts with Scotland and Ireland (later Northern Ireland) which were more administratively distinct.

The historic counties of Wales are:

  • Anglesey
  • (Brecknockshire)
  • Caernarfonshire
  • Cardiganshire
  • Carmarthenshire
  • Denbighshire
  • Flintshire
  • (Glamorganshire)
  • Merionethshire
  • Monmouthshire
  • Montgomeryshire
  • Radnorshire